Author Topic: 1952 Fleetwood restomod electrical issues  (Read 126 times)

Offline papas52cad

1952 Fleetwood restomod electrical issues
« on: November 27, 2017, 09:08:07 AM »
Hello
I am new to the Mid century CLUB, And a proud new owner of a restomod, 1952 fleetwood from CA. It now happily resides here in the NY Catskill mountain region. This car is just great, as I compare it to the 1957 Ford Fairlane 500 HT, that I restored and have enjoyed since 2010.
But my new car passion need some minor help with a few issues I have discovered.
I have searched for help but have not found an answer so I am hopeful some of the many experts here can help me in my quest.
FYI, this car was upgraded to 12v, (has a new 6v harness from resto) and includes a 1959 390 motor and 59 Jetaway trains.
#1- all door switches Are disconnected, and there is no voltage on the wire spades that are easily accessible . FYI, The front  map lights do work using the driverside map light switch. My understanding is the map lights go on via switch and should also come on when front doors r opened.
For the rear door switches, If I understand correctly these turn on pillar and overhead lights when door is open. FYI the pillar and the overhead light work via both pillar switches.
What is the correct wire connection from front doors, i.e. Where is wire terminated to get power?
Same for rear, do the door switch wires connect to the pillar switch? I have not removed pillar switch for fear of the unknown behind the switch...is this a simple wire connection? Given this car is new to me I am proceeding very cautiously.
My other question is the about a power window switch. FYI all windows work using the driver side master window control. The rear passenger side window switch however does not work window. Can this switch be removed/serviced without removing the  door panel. If so how do I remove the chrome bezel?