Author Topic: Welcome Steve Strickland to the forum  (Read 78 times)

Offline South_paw

Welcome Steve Strickland to the forum
« on: December 28, 2018, 05:14:56 PM »
Welcome Steve Strickland

Your account is now activated  8)  Pull up a chair and tell us about your Cadillac, share a picture or two.

Enjoy,
Lou
Lou
1956 Eldorado Biarritz
CLC Member since 2001 (Unlisted in Directory)

*** Check out the 1956 Eldorado Biarritz Survivor Roster. Click here ***

Offline Steve Strickland

Re: Welcome Steve Strickland to the forum
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2018, 06:44:22 PM »
Thank you Lou!

I have a 1951 60 Special that I've been working on for two years. My grandfather was the 2nd owner (1990) and I am the 3rd (Dec. 2016). I have the original bill of sale from Florida and most of the repair bills from the first owner from the 80's (window actuator, switches, right front fender repair).

I decided to freshen it up when I got it and that quickly turned into more work than I intended to do. It was a complete car when I got it; very little rust or rot, some pitting on the chrome, delam on the glass, paint was badly faded. I ended up stripping the interior, pulling the motor and trans, and stripped the chrome and stainless off the car. I freshened the motor with new seals and gaskets from the heads up. I rebuilt the carb and had to remove the internal flapper on the exhaust riser. I cleaned up and repainted the engine and transmission. I replaced the wiring harness for the entire car with a repro from YNZ. The motor and trans are back in it. I had it repainted Bolero Maroon but I did the top in Savoy Gray, both with a slight metallic.